Are you happy?

Some of you probably remember the movie “The Pursuit of Happyness” that came out in 2006.  Will Smith was playing a desperate father who had started his dream business with much anticipation.  But soon his business (selling some sort of portable bone scanning device for doctors) fails, his wife leaves him and her young son.  The story gets really touching when the father and his boy (probably 4-5 years old) hop from motel to subway station rest room to homeless shelter to survive (basically they were homeless.).  Well at the end it was all happy ending.  He lands his real job at one of the large investment companies and later he becomes an owner of a multi-million dollar investment company.
 
I do not know if the real person (the movie was based on a true story) has reached true happiness in his life or not, but I have no doubt we all have this pursuit of happiness in every part of what we do and who we are.
 
But, if our definition of being happy is constantly defined and measured by materials, accomplishments, health, people (yes, even family and friends), etc., will we ever be truly happy?  Dale Carnegie said, “Did you ever see an unhappy horse?  Did you ever see a bird that had the blues?  One reason why birds and horses are not unhappy is because they are not trying to impress other birds and horses.”
 
Happiness is not “because of” but “despite of”.  It is a profound hope for the future and even after you and I are gone.  Maybe that’s why there is a saying, “Live your life as if today is the last day of your life!”  If today is your last day, suddenly all those things or people that you thought would make you happy don’t matter much! 
 
Sometimes, I am guilty of missing out those profound happy moments (because they look trivial and easy to be missed!) in my life because I am already on to other thoughts and tasks that I illusion will make me happier.  How wrong I am! 
David Bang
One thought on “Are you happy?

  1. I Am! and I consider myself to be blessed. I hope that’s not just blissful ignorance. But we’ve all heard the sentiment “Don’t worry, Be happy” as it was expressed in the popular tune from Bobby McFerrin in the late 80’s. And even a bit further back, “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” (Mat 6:27,NIV)
    Works for me!

Leave a Reply

